Sundays are for Shoes, Beer and Dessert

I got to go to the pre-grand opening at the new DSW NYC location last Sunday. I resisted buying any new shoes, but picked up this LeSportsac makeup case by the cash registers while waiting for my friend to pay for her purchase. This DSW will open to the public on March 8 and is located at 213 W34 St.

We had lunch at Pour George, a sports bar and restaurant. There was a large group of people playing Jenga and Connect Four while watching a basketball game. Once they left, the television remained on, but its sound was replaced by The Black Keys and other alternative rock; candles were placed on all shelves and tables in preparation for the dinner crowd. We got beer samplers, sliders and wings. The wings were particularly delicious. I have a soft spot for any bar that serves great food and offers you wet-naps.


We also went to Kyotofu for dessert. The ambiance was too dark for photos, but do have their sweet tofu panna cotta or creme brulee with a sparkling sake if you’re ever in the neighborhood.

7 responses to “Sundays are for Shoes, Beer and Dessert

  1. How’s the variety of shoes compared to that of the one in Union Sq.?

    • I think the men’s department is a lot nicer. The store is 3 floors and the men get their own floor (though it’s shared with the sales section). I passed through it quickly and liked what I saw overall, nice selection of dress shoes.

  2. what’s the variety of shoes like compare to the one in union sq.?

    • I think it’s nicer and everything is more organized. Might change as time goes? They had some Melissa flats and other brands I haven’t seen at Union sq. before. I’d check it out if you’re in the neighborhood.

  3. I love places with beer samplers! I can’t really drink that much (lightweight here) so I like the small portions. the sliders look super cute and tasty too

Leave a Reply

